Support @ Enlighten Hosting

Web Mail Tutorial

1. Logging into Web Mail
      
To login into Enlighten Hosting's Web Mail, connect to http://mail.enlightenhosting.com. A website would be appear as shown below.
      
Type your email in the 'User name:' text box (e.g.: myname@mydomain.co.nz).
      
Type your email password in the 'Password:' text box.
      
Click once on the 'Login' button. 

 

2. Checking for Messages
      
When you connect to Enlighten Hosting Web Mail, new messages will appear in your Inbox. Subjects in bold letters with a yellow envelope, signify unread emails, whereas subjects in normal font are emails already viewed.
      
To check for incoming messages, click the 'Get Messages' link in the list of folders.
      
Your incoming messages will appear in a list sorted by time/date, most recent appearing at the top.

 

3. Reading Messages
      
Messages in the Web Mail appear as hyperlinked (blue underlined) text. To view a message, place the mouse pointer on the blue link and click once. You could also click on either the envelope icon or sender.
      
The message's content and information will be displayed in your web browser's window.
      
Click Delete to remove the message.
      
Click Reply, Reply All, or Reply & Delete (this deletes the message after a respond is sent) to respond to the message.
      
Click Forward to send the message to another person
      
Click Next or Previous to view other messages in your Web Mail Inbox.
      
Click Print for the message to appear for easy printing.

4. Replying to an email
      
To reply an email, click on the 'Reply' button. The following webpage would appear.

 

5. Saving Messages
If you want to save a message to your hard drive, follow the steps outlined below.
      
Open the message you want to save.
      
Click Print for the message to appear in a simpler format (HTML).
      
Choose File, then Save As… from the menu or press Ctrl-S (Windows) or -S (Macintosh).
      
Type the name for the file you would like the message to be saved to.
      
Make sure the Format: selection is Text.
      
Navigate to the folder where you wish the file to be stored on your computer.
      
Click Save or press the return (Enter) key.
      
To open the message, open Microsoft Word or the word processor of your choice.
      
Choose File, then Open from the menu or press Ctrl-O (Windows), or -O (Macintosh).
      
From within the Open dialog box, locate the file on your computer, highlight it and click Open.

6. Compose A New Email Message
      
To send a new email message, click New Message 
      
The new message screen would look like this:

 

    
In the "To" Field, type the full email address of the person you are typing the email message to (e.g.: johnsmith@enlightenhosting.com).
      
The "Cc" field will send a copy of the message to the email addresses you type here. You may want to use this if you are sending an important email to an associate and want to send a copy to yourself as a backup. In this case you would type your associate's email address in the "To" field and your own email address in the "Cc" field. This field does not need to be filled out to send a message. It is optional.
      
The "Bcc" field is just like the "Cc" field, except that anyone who receives this email will not see the email names in the "Bcc" field. You may want to use this if you are sending a message to multiple people who don't want a lot of people to have their email address. In this case, you would type these email addresses in the "Bcc" field. This field does not need to be filled out to send a message. It is also optional.
      
The "Subject" field is just to let the recipient know what your email message is about. It is an optional field, but is considered common courtesy, especially if it is a business email.
      
The "Message" box is where you type your email message. To type your message, click on the message box and type. When you are finished typing your message you might want to do a quick spell check by clicking on Spell Check before sending it by clicking on the button.
      
To send your message click on the "Send" button.
       
To send the email as text only, with no formatting styles (eg no bold or underline), turn off the Send as HTML check box at the end of message. To save an email without sending, check the Save as Drafts box. This keeps what you have written in the Drafts Folder. You may also want to save a copy of the email you sent as a record. To do that, check the Save Copy To Sent Folder box.

7. Attaching a file to a message
      
If you wish to send an attachment with your email message, click on Browse (beside the Attachment textbox) at the end of the New Message screen. Navigate to the file you to wish to attach on your PC, and double click it (or select it and click the Open button). The file name now appears in the Attachment text field.
      
If you wish to add more than one attachment, click on More. This will bring up another attachment textbox. Follow the same steps as the above to add an attachment.

8. To detach a file from a message
      
In the Attachment text field(s) that contains the attached document, highlight the entire text, and press Delete.

9. Deleting Messages
There are two ways to delete a message in Web Mail.
      For Single Message Deletion:
      
Open the message to be deleted.
      
Click Delete.
      
For Single or Multiple Message Deletion:
      
In your Inbox, click the check box (next to the subject message) for the message(s) you wish to delete.
      
Click the Delete Selected Messages button at the bottom right of the page.
      
If you wish to delete all messages, click on the checkbox beside Select All Messages.
      
Each message marked for deletion will be 'checked' in green on the left of the subject message. Once Delete Selected Messages is clicked, the webpage will be refreshed, and selected emails will disappear.
      
All deleted messages are sent to the Trash folder. Messages can be recovered from the Trash folder if deleted by mistake.

10. Logging Out
      
It is important that you disconnect from Web Mail when you are done reading your mail. If you do not log out, you will be logged out automatically after 15 minutes.
      
Click on Logout situated at the top right corner of your Inbox.